The Valley of Vision

One of my favorite books is Valley of Vision, a collection of Puritan prayers edited by Arthur Bennett. It is a beautiful book that takes me away from my self centered thinking to seeing God in all His glory – or at least as close as I can see Him this side of eternity.

So today I would like to share the opening prayer in this little gem of a book. I have though, taken the liberty of updating the language a little. It was written in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. I hope you are blessed.

Lord, High and Holy, Meek and Lowly,

You have brought me to the valley of vision, where I live in the depth but see you in the heights;

I am hemmed in by mountains of sin but here I see your glory.

Let me learn by paradox…

that the way down is the way up

that to be low is to be high

that the broken heart is the healed heart

that the contrite spirit is the rejoicing spirit

that the repenting soul is the victorious soul,

that to have nothing is to possess all,

that to bear the cross is to wear the crown,

that to give is to receive,

that the valley is the place of vision.


Lord, in the daytime the starts can be seen from the deepest wells,

and the deeper the wells, the brighter your starts shine;


Let me find your Light in my darkness,

Let me find your life in my death

Let me find your grace in my sin

Let me find your riches in my poverty

Let me find your glory in my valley.


Amen

Leave a Reply

