The Twenty-Third Channel

The TV set is my shepherd.

My spiritual growth shall want.

It maketh me to sit down and do nothing for His name’s sake,

because it requireth all my spare time.

It keepeth me from doing my duty as a Christian,

because it presenteth so many good shows that I must see.

It restoreth my knowledge of the things of the world,

and keepeth me from the study of God’s Word.

It leadeth me in the paths of failing to attend the evening worship services

and doing nothing in the kingdom of God.

Yea, though I live to be 100,

I shall keep on viewing my TV as long as it will work,

for it is my closest companion.

Its sounds and its pictures, they comfort me,

and keepeth me from doing important things with my family.

It fills my head with ideas which differ from those set forth in the Word of God.

Surely no good thing will come of my life because

my TV offers me no good time to do the will of God.

Thus I will dwell in spiritual poverty all the days of my life.

(Author Unknown)

Found this while cleaning up my Word Doc files today. Made me smile. It is so true – just one more of those idols we fight every day. Do you ever fast from TV? It is really easy for me since I left TV in the dust years ago ….but can I fast from my computer?Maybe I need to write one of these for the computer….

How long can you be away from your computer? – e-mails, blogs, googles, Photoshop – all of it. I might last a week. Is the computer your idol?

2 thoughts on “The Twenty-Third Channel

  1. Ouch! That hurt Julie 🙂 Thanks for that reminder. Y’know, I often blame our TV watching on my hubby…so I was feeling pretty high and mighty there until you brought up the computer…uhgggg that’s all me.
    Maybe I’ll try a fast from my computer. I’ll need lots of prayer if I do.

  2. Well I know I spend too much of my free time on the computer, cause I just got home from work, cleaned up the kitchen, set the table and got dinner ready to go and I have a few minutes….so what am I doing? Checking e-mails and replying to comments on my blogs. ahem…I could be reviewing Colossians before our community group tonight.
    …so maybe fasting from the computer might be an idea – or at least no computer until certain things in my day are done first.

Leave a Reply

